Pancha Mahabhoota

Share On:




Panchamahaboot is a concept in Ayurveda which comprises of five elements that are present in a human body. These elements are:

  • Ether or Akash: It means that which creates and represents an idea. It is light, subtle and clear.
  • Air or Vayu: It means which moves and is responsible for movement necessary for creation. It is light, dry and subtle.
  • Fire or Tejas: It means which heats and transforms. It is hot, sharp, subtle and dry.
  • Water or Aap: It means which flows and moisturizes. It is liquid, cold, and mobile.
  • Earth or Prithvi: It means that which holds and stabilizes. It is heavy and immobile.

Do and Don’t

In addition to five elements, there are eleven indriyas. Five are sense organs (ears, skin, eyes, tongue, and nose), five action organs (vocal cords, hands, feet, genitals, and anus) and the mind.

Mudras to balance the five elements

  • Prana Mudra
  • Gyan Mudra
  • Dhyana Mudra
  • Varuna Mudra
  • Ling Mudra
  • Surya Mudra
  • Vayu Mudra
  • Prithvi Mudra

Yoga poses to balance the five elements


  • Mountain Pose (Tadasana)
  • Warrior I Pose (Virabhadrasana 1)
  • Tree Pose (Vriksasana)
  • Eagle Pose (Garudasana)
  • Head-to-Knee Forward Bend (Janu Sirsasana)
  • Hero Pose (Virasana)
  • Child’s Pose (Balasana)
  • Corpse Pose (Savasana)


  • Sun Salutation (Surya Namaskar)
  • Plank Pose (Phalakasana)
  • Tiger Pose (Vyaghrasana)
  • Revolved Lunge Pose (Parivrtta Anjaneyasana)
  • Chair Pose (Utkatasana)
  • Boat Pose (Navasana)
  • Half Lord of the Fishes Pose (Ardha Matsyendrasana)


  • Easy Pose (Sukhasana)
  • Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana)
  • Cow/Cat Pose (Bitilasana/Marjaryasana)
  • Bow Pose (Dhanurasana)
  • Bridge Pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)
  • Camel Pose (Ustrasana)
  • Lord of the Dance Pose (Natarajasana)


  • Sequence: Cobra Dance
  • Sequence: Undulating Dog
  • Low Lunge Pose
  • Bound Angle Pose (Badhakonasana)
  • Frog Pose (Mandukasana)
  • Pigeon Pose (Eka Pada Rajakapotasan)
  • Moving Bridge Pose (Setu Bandhasana)
  • Happy Baby Pose (Ananda Balasana)


  • Lion Pose (Simhasana)
  • Star Pose (Utthita Tadasana)
  • Camel Pose (Ustrasana)
  • Fish Pose (Matsyasana)
  • Shoulder Stand (Salamba Sarvangasana)
  • Legs Up the Wall Pose (Viparita Karani)
  • Corpse Pose (Savasana)

Foods to balance the five elements

  • Earth and Water- to balance them consume dairy products, wheat, bread, banana, carrot, turnip, anise, cumin, etc.
  • Fire- to balance it consume lemon, tomato, fermented food, ginger, garlic etc.
  • Air and Ether- to balance them consume an apple, berries, radish, yogurt, cream, basil, thyme etc.

Other Information

Five Indriyas

  • Chakshu Indriya – helps to see and distinguish objects of different shapes, sizes, and colors
  • Shrotra Indriya – helps to hear and distinguish different sounds
  • Gharana Indriya – helps to smell and distinguish various smells
  • Rasana Indriya – helps to taste and distinguish different tastes
  • Sparshana Indriya – helps to touch and distinguish between different touches

Doshas associated with the elements:

  • Ether and Air – Balance in Earth and Air leads to balance in Vata
  • Fire- Disproportion of fire creates Pitta
  • Water and Earth- Imbalance of water and earth leads to the creation of Kapha.