Trayodasha Agni

Share On:



"Agni" is the biological fire that governs body metabolism. Agni encompasses all the changes in the body including the digestion and absorption of food, cellular transformations, assimilation of sensory perceptions and mental and emotional experiences. 

As per Ayurveda, there are 13 types of Agni in the body.

  • Jatharagni (1): The gastric fire which is responsible for digestion of food. If digestive Agni is low and the capacity is impaired, one may experience pain, discomfort, feeling of heaviness or gases gurgling, constipation or loose stools.
  • Dhatvagni (7): Agni responsible for metabolism and synthesis of dhatus.
  • Bhutagni (5): Agni responsible for presence and activities of Panchmahabhoota in the body.

Other Agni are:

SaptaDhatvagni and PancaBhutagni